Aiden can be difficult.
Yes we're aware that he is three, and that there are limitations to his comprehension, we get that he is still learning, and that parents need patience when teaching a person how to be a person.
He mostly get's it, but there's this one thing.
Aiden will NOT get out of bed in the mornings to go potty.
He'll get up to grab a toy or two and take them back to bed, but he refuses to go to the bathroom. Even if the potty is sitting right next to his bed.
You'll say, maybe he's scared, after all it's usually dark in there isn't it, there's a long scary hallway between him and the bathroom? No. The bathroom is across the hall from his bedroom and he happily goes in there even if he can't see the toilet in front of him any other time of the day or night. Theres a push light next to the toilet just for him. He knows how it works, but he won't use it.
You'll say, well you should be happy that he isn't running all over the house while you're trying to sleep, or, at least you can get him to sleep in his own bed throughout the night. Well no. Those are other peoples problems. This is ours.
If it's night or day, whether we're asleep or noisily puttering around, whether the room is dark or bright, he will not get himself out of bed for the purpose of using the potty or even to leave his bed to come find us.
He'll lay in bed until he's whimpering and sometimes even howling that he has to pee. Sometimes he'd even rather pee himself and lay there in it than get up.
He MUST HAVE A VERBAL CUE.
We have never instructed him to stay in his bed. Never.
Where's the problem there?!
The problem is that I get home at 2 am after at least an hour long commute, after being a cop all night, and I don't want to wake up at 8AM to "I need to pee, I need to pee, I need to pee..." I'm then awake for the rest of the day.
The problem is that he is fully capable of getting out of bed and is fully potty trained, but he REFUSES to pee without first announcing it and then getting the go ahead to do it. Then after, he wants a fucking cookie for pissing in the toilet. EVERY TIME.
We praised him too much in the beginning. For every little thing. Dumb.
We're completely frustrated with him. It's been going on for months. We've tried so many things to lure him out of bed.
It takes us standing over him and saying, "why are you still in your bed? Get up, go pee", and he does.
OOOOOoooo we're mad.